Home > Food, Wine > Simonsig Gewürztraminer: the perfect wine with Lemon Mousse

Simonsig Gewürztraminer: the perfect wine with Lemon Mousse

Preparation Time: 10 minutes Chilling Time: 60 minutes Yield: 4-6

Isn’t it amazing where recipes can emerge from? A dinner for friends Ann and Garth Coetzee’s 17th wedding anniversary last Saturday evening caused me to tackle biryani for the first time (more about that next week), and since Annie loves making desserts, she brought along one of her favourites.

I tend to avoid desserts, as I do not have what is referred to as a “sweet tooth”. Well, that’s what I usually declaim when I encounter a dessert that I really like, but as dear daughter Alex (she of the sharp tongue) pointed out on Saturday evening, “Dad, you always say that, but with the number of desserts you now eat…..” and left it at that! I actually don’t like really sweet things, so I think what does it for me in this dessert, is the tartness which the lemon juice brings, to off-set the sweetness of the condensed milk.

I liked this one very much; so much so in fact, that I had a second helping there and then, followed by a third on Sunday while writing the recipe!

Enquiring politely if I could have the recipe, I discovered that it actually originates from a dear mutual friend, Vanessa Bourne, herself a legend in the kitchen.

So what follows, is Vanessa’s sinfully delicious lemon mousse in its unexpurgated form with no twist turns, twills or frills of my own. It is so simple to make in fact, that once people taste it for the first time, and enthuse as volubly as they are inclined to do, it makes one feel like a bit of a fraud.

Ingredients

250ml fresh cream

385g tin condensed milk

½cup lemon juice: fresh preferably, but bottled otherwise.

Berries: this is the ingredient with which you can tinker to your heart’s content. Annie brought a 500g bag of frozen berries, which are freely available from most supermarkets throughout the year. Typically such bags contain strawberries and raspberries, and if you’re lucky perhaps some blueberries and blackberries. With strawberry season upon us – it seems to arrive earlier ever year – one could of course buy fresh.

Whichever you choose to use, blitz them into a coulis with a stick blender or in a blender jug.

Method

Whip the cream into peaks with a whisk if you’re strong, or an electric beater if you’re sensible.

Whisk the lemon juice into the condensed milk until well homogenised.

Combine with the whipped cream.

Place in the refrigerator covered, to set for an hour.

Serve drenched with berry coulis. Enjoy!

Wine match

Johan Malan’s 2010 Simonsig Gewürztraminer worked excellently with this dessert, but unexpectedly, because it is quite crisp – tart almost, which I would normally find over-states the contrast with a sweet dessert.

The wine is actually a blend of 85% Gewürztraminer and 15% Morio Muscat, a varietal developed by German viticulturist Peter Morio in 1928. It is known for its acidity and its aromatic character, both of which are prominent in this wine.

Pale straw yellow in colour, it has a surprising tinge of almost luminous green.

On the nose, it speaks volubly of crisp fresh green apples and freshly peeled litchis perfumed with a hint of rose petals and spice (Gerwurz means spice in German).

On the palate, both the apple and litchi flavours predominate, off-set by the zesty acidity.

The finish is long and crisply fruity, with a delicate – and pleasantly surprising – hint of white tannins right at the end.

The sugar is a substantial 28.6g/l, which puts it in to the semi-sweet category.

  1. Felicity Allwright
    May 1, 2011 at 10:25 am

    How about a Berry Coulis recipe in the future (most people do not even know how to pronounce this name! I love your recipes and always cut them out and file them. Now that they will soon be on the web, I have been filing them on my computer in categories. The snails eat my post if I don’t go and clear the postbox promptly. If I forget and leave the post overnight, there are lots of holes, so I am looking forward to replacing these recipes with “whole ones from the web”. If you just talk about food in an edition of Bolander, I feel as if I have been deprived as I don’t have a recipe to file and try out!

    • May 1, 2011 at 1:52 pm

      Hi Felicity,
      Thank you so much for your kind words about my recipes! I will most certainly look at doing a berry coulis recipe. Good idea!
      I will endeavour to publish a recipe every day in future, so that your collection can grow apace.
      Norman

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

