Home > Wine > Franschhoek Literary Festival 2012 SA Wine Writer of the Year

Franschhoek Literary Festival 2012 SA Wine Writer of the Year

I was thrilled to be awarded the Franschhoek Literary Festival 2012 South African Wine Writer of the Year Award for 2012 on May 11 at a ceremony in Franschhoek.

I’m deeply honoured to be in the company of previous winners Joanne Gibson and Tim James.

I entered a piece I wrote for WINE Magazine about the old vines project in January 2011, entitled Age does matter. If you’d like to read it on line left-click here, or right click here, then click Save link as…. and save the PDF for off-line reading. 

The prize included a beautiful original oil by well-known South African realist Denby Meyer, which has pride of place on our living room wall.

The cash prize will fund a trip to the US in November this year. I’ll be spending about a week in Napa and Sanoma visiting wineries and tasting wine, then off to Utah (by road via Lake Tahoe, across Nevada and the Bonnievale Salt Flats) to visit family, and finally home, via Fort Worth, Texas to visit friends.

Can’t wait!

Categories: Wine
  1. July 19, 2012 at 12:01 pm

    Hi Norman
    I am trying to find your article: Old Vines: Age does matter. I can’t locate it on your site or the Winemag site. Is there a link I can use?
    Thanks,
    Kind regards,
    Alison

    • July 20, 2012 at 8:07 am

      Hi Alison,
      The link I have takes one to an article titled “Size does matter”, written by somebody from Radoux cooperage about the effect of barrel size on the winemaking process.
      Seems my article is no longer considered important.
      I have a PDF of the article, without my byline (it was removed for anonymity to enter the competition) which I can email to you.
      Since WineMag have taken it down, I plan to put it up on my blog anyway.
      Regards,
      Norman

  2. July 21, 2012 at 8:06 am

    Thanks Norman, that would be great. I am educating myself by studying the winners, and aspire to be the competition one day :-) If I don’t make it, I intend to have fun and learn lots along the way anyway!
    Kind regards,
    Alison
    alisonsussex@gmail.com

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,307 other followers

